The Sun and the Rain

Standard

We’ve had so much rain lately, which is much needed ’round these parts. I reminds me of a blessing we used before meals times at Girl Scout camp:

Oh the Lord is good to me,
And so I thank the Lord!
For giving me the things I need,
Like the sun and the rain,
And the apple seed.
The Lord is good to me.
Amen! (Dig in!)

The sun and the rain have been quite good to me indeed, because look! Thar be ‘maters! Ha!

Amish Paste – An heirloom from WI. Produces up to 12 oz, deep-red oxheart-shaped, meaty fruit. Lots of sweet, tomatoey flavors from this coreless meaty fruit. Great for slicing and saucing.

A true black cherry tomato. Grow to produce 1″, round, deep purple, mahogany-brown fruit. Delicious with sweet, rich, complex, full tomato flavors that burst in your mouth, characteristic of the best flavorful black tomatoes.

My other tomato varieties, Cherokee Purple and Brandywine, have been somewhat lackluster.  I’m not sure what the problem really is, though while not dead, they’re fairly puny.  Time will tell if their few flowers will actually fruit.

So beyond the tomatoes flourishing, my potted Mystery Pepper (named such because it had a big question mark on the little planter when I bought it at the plant store and it was subsequently 50% off) has a lone fruit making its debut. I decided to transplant it into the bed, now that those emeffer fire ants finally bought the farm (grr!)

The Mystery Pepper. Woot!

My bed is finally rid of the most hated scourge of the southwest, but I wasn’t sure what to plant. My gardening friends are all producing lovely eats like squash, melons, beans, beets, strawberries, etc. I just needed things that weren’t going to be a wast of a $1.99.  So my primary criteria for what to put in the bed was full sun. So here’s what we have (hopefully you can read the labels, but if not, I have 2 cucumber plants, 1 eggplant, 4 different peppers: Mystery, pepperoncini, bell, and serrano, English mint, and French thyme):

The Bed, de-anted and replanted.

I know I’ve been gone awhile. Life had gotten a bit crazy (travel, children, stuff-n-things).  I’m hoping to have more garden success to show you and expand my subject matter to other interesting things. Maybe I should rename this blog “Beyond the Garden” to motivate me a little bit.

PS – I did do a little guest blogging, if you’re interested to read about something other than ants in my bed and willfully unsuccessful tomato plants. Check it out here: The Texas Treatment blog.

Leave a Reply

